Canon multi-functional working with Mac and PC

Our old HP DeskJet had finally given up the ghost, so I splashed out on a new Canon MP600R: a fast colour printer that also copies, and can work wirelessly with Mac and PC. Or so the ad said. In fact, a better wording would be that it worked with Mac OR PC.

The set-up was pretty painful: my MacBook Pro wouldn’t recognise the printer. After a long night, nearly ready to throw in the towel, I tried to install my PC laptop and it worked first time. The next day after a fairly quick response from Canon Support Netherlands (in Dutch though: why does Canon assume I want to speak Dutch just because I live in the Netherlands?), I realised that the drivers supplied for Macintosh do not work with Intel Macs, but those available on the Canon software site (version 5.72) do. However, on calling the Support helpdesk, the friendly lady who had written the reply also reliably informed me that there was no way I would get my Mac working with the printer now that the printer was working with my PC.

Googling Canon Mac PC issues revealed the fabulous PrintFab driver. For a €49 one-off fee, this’ll give you a driver with a bunch more functionality than the default Canon driver: including the ability to work with a Canon multifunctional network printer that was already working with a PC.

Oh — and the printer itself did everything else it said on the box:

  • Connects over 802.11g, so you can place anywhere in the house (although if you get so far away from the access point that your laptop would have half signal strength, the printer won’t work)
  • Fast printing of colour and black & white — i don’t think I’ve seen the 30ppm claimed, but it’s pretty blinding
  • Easy access through the scrollwheel and easy viewing through 2.5“ screen.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

